#3. Stain on my white shirt

For many days I have had a classic oxford white shirt- my most favorite, fitting, a little shabby due to overuse- white shirt. Then one of these days, in the washing machine it met many red and yellow and green and blue clothes and when it came out, it was a changed shirt altogether. It had developed a little crush near its hem for the red underpants and a ‘stain of love’ given to it by the naughty blue office shirt. For days and months I mourned the stain and didn’t know what to do about it. It was a horrible stain- a stain like no other; a stain no detergent in the market claimed to remove- a stain of a lifetime. I put the shirt in the machine a couple of times and then left it to rot inside one of my dumpsters. There was no way I was ever going to get rid of that wretched stain.

“Oh my shirt! My beloved shirt!” I cried for days, watching ‘friends’ on my laptop, eating ice-cream and dark chocolates to forget my loss.

This  past Tuesday morning, I was cleaning up my closet and saw the shirt again along with the most loathed stain in the history of all stains. I put it in warm water with some regular detergent and left it to soak for around a day. Next morning I hand washed it and put it in some indigo water. It is drying up in the balcony right now and the stain is still there. God! I hate it so much!

A few years back when I first began writing poetry, a random person commented on one of my poems,

“You are a stain on literature. You can’t write and you should not try. Honestly, you suck!”

Now that I think of it, it is a good thing I am a stain. Not a blotch, a stain! I want to stay on the white shirt forever, slowly changing my colors but always sticking near the button placket. Hate me if you wish but you can’t put me away!

 

Leave a Reply

