What is your favorite song that always make you feel painful but you love it?

 

 

My answer to What is your favorite song that always make you feel painful but you love it?

Answer by Anurag Chaudhary:

‘Mr. Tambourine Man’ by Bob Dylan. I have been a Dylan fan ever since I started appreciating western music. Tambourine man got introduced to me rather late in that sense.

I started connecting with the song last year when I was going through an extremely rough patch in life. Everyone and everything seemed to work against me. I have realised over my tenure in the office of life that music stays with you till your deathbed. Even books don’t have this power.

Coming back to this song, Mr. Tambourine Man, despite being the founding song for the entire rock-folk genre, connects with the listener for its absolutely surreal lyrics that hits you at different places on your soul methodically.

The lyrics call on the title character to play a song and the narrator will follow.

It goes something like this, and it is a long one so I am just putting the first paragraph

Hey ! Mr Tambourine Man, play a song for me
I’m not sleepy and there is no place I’m going to
Hey ! Mr Tambourine Man, play a song for me
In the jingle jangle morning I’ll come followin’ you.
Though I know that evenin’s empire has returned into sand
Vanished from my hand
Left me blindly here to stand but still not sleeping
My weariness amazes me, I’m branded on my feet
I have no one to meet
And the ancient empty street’s too dead for dreaming.

Hey ! Mr Tambourine Man, play a song for me
I’m not sleepy and there is no place I’m going to

If you haven’t heard the song, please try it. It has been popularized by so many artists including Byrds and Judy Collins but I like the original Bob Dylan version a lot more.

Cheers! 🙂

What is your favorite song that always make you feel painful but you love it?

Leave a Reply

